Skip to content

Typsetting math on github

December 17, 2012

I just spent an evening creating an open lab notebook on github, and found the entire experience quite frustrating. I tried to use the inst directory of an R package as suggested here, but it made it hard to typeset math. Then I tried making a github wiki, but math was again difficult for reasons I couldn’t figure out. In the end I preferred the use of github pages. I’ve written down steps that I wished someone before me had suggested:

The benefit of this approach is that you can make html pages anyway that you would like and they just show up as a page on your github notebook. This way you don’t have to worry about how the github wiki for example is supposed to render math…which I couldn’t understand for the life of me. To make html pages with math, I use R markdown in Rstudio.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Matthew Stephens permalink
    January 9, 2013 11:09 pm

    thanks – I found this useful.

Leave a Reply

