Skip to content

Two beautiful things: MathJax & Markdown

July 21, 2012

MathJax finally makes it easy to write nice looking mathematics in html (OK when I say ‘easy’ I mean ‘easy for people who know latex’).

Markdown makes html easy to write (and I really do mean easy).

People just keep getting better at programming.

Here‘s an amazing discussion on this topic. And for mac users with TextWrangler check this and this out.

I really want to get pandoc working too, but I’ve had trouble getting it to work on my system. Similar problems and error messages to this person, but their description of the solution is too terse for me.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Ryan Gray permalink
    July 23, 2012 5:33 am

    Is there a reason you can’t install the binary build?

    • July 23, 2012 2:44 pm

      Good point Ryan…I skipped a step. I tried installing the binary and everything looked good. But when I tried using pandoc (i.e. on the first example listed here), I got this message: dyld: unknown required load command 0x80000022 Trace/BPT trap. Google wasn’t much help for me, which could just be because I didn’t recognize the answer when I saw it, but virtually everyone having problems with pandoc on mac are running OS X 10.5.8 like me: (e.g., e.g.). After learning all this, I had to get back to work so haven’t made any new progress. Do you have any ideas?

      • Ryan Gray permalink
        August 5, 2012 12:52 am

        I can’t find system requirements, but I did see that a recent change was the installer checking for a 64 bit intel CPU. Since you are running 10.5.8, I’m guessing it’s likely you are running on an older Mac. Is this true?

  2. August 5, 2012 3:29 am

    Hmmm…my mac is fairly old but I do have a 64 bit CPU. Thanks for the idea. About system requirements…I couldn’t find any either.

Leave a Reply

